unsolicited advice for the creative

So I made stuff, in my endeavor to be a practicing creative whose body of work is composed of tangible objects and not just floating concepts in my brain.

Boyfriend and I were gearing up to set a table at this small event for local artists and I wanted to churn out something new after having layouted my DIY comics. I trashed several ideas before finally settling down on something. I thought: “Hey, I have numerous opinions about creatives. Most of the people who will attend the event are creatives. Why not publish my rants about them?” Or something like that.

So I got on my little notepad and quickly wrote short sentences about my thoughts on artists, what makes them great, their favorite excuses for when they’re not being productive, and mostly just beliefs on the process of churning out artistic work. As a full-time Creative Director, I thought I was credible enough to give unsolicited advice.

At work, I would always tell book layout artists that the purpose of layout is to make reading the text easy. But I had so much fun breaking that rule when I designed the pages of this small project. Check out these pages:

advice-creative-zine-01advice-creative-zine-02advice-creative-zine-03advice-creative-zine-04advice-creative-zine-05

Interested in a copy of the whole thing? E-mail me and I’ll send it to you. No charge, no survey, no anything in exchange whatsoever.

 

Leave a comment